Not really wild camping

The route goes over the hills and past the houses

Late afternoon view

A backpacker once more!  I didn’t walk far but some of the ground was rough and all of it was stunning.  The Trailstar took a battering during the first night and snow fell on the second but I loved it.  While sudden gusts were slamming into my shelter between one and two thirty in the morning at my first pitch, I thought the only thing which can go wrong now is that pegs might pull.  A peg pulled.  I couldn’t find it so replaced it with the toilet trowel I had made from an MSR snow peg.  Later, I found the missing peg underneath the inner tent three feet from where I had placed it.

My second pitch was in a field, so cannot count as a wild camp, even though it wasn’t your average field.  More than a mile from the nearest dwelling and with its own rocky shore, the field is an oasis in a wilderness of heather and peat.  Last autumn, I saw dotterel and whooper swans here.  I guess they thought it was a nice place to rest for a while during their migration.

Since I confidently asserted that an Oookstar placed to the side of the Trailstar’s centre post would not be wetted by rain, I have twice woken to find large droplets on its cuben lower wall.  Thank goodness I opted for half solid walls to the inner, particularly as last night’s weather included some wet snow.  I am deeply saddened by what I have read about other bloggers experiences with Oookworks because this inner is a great piece of kit.

Note the ultralight tin of haggis

Not your average field

People lived here quite recently

Sleiteil

Leave a Reply

